Problems with OS X Leopard, Apache and symbolic links

I just can’t get symbolic links in the ~/Sites/ folder to some working files in the ~/Documents/ folder  working under Apache. The error message in the log file is: “Symbolic link not allowed or link target not accessible”It has been bugging me since after dinner, and it is now 3o minutes into the witching hour, and man, is it starting to piss me off.I have slogged through all the options for enabling FollowSymLinks in the various *conf files, and ensuring it isn’t a ‘Allow from all’ missing somewhere. There is deeper mojo at work, and I suspect some kind of default users/permissions security setting. But what?If this was Ubuntu I would have been happily working for hours in stead of fighting the system. Grumble, grumble. But then the power supply on my Linux box blows up. Grumble. Grumble. At least I am not the only one with the problem, here, here and here are posts that I found with a similar issue. The ACL thing has however not helped me, removing all ACLs in site did not make a difference to me. So I am still without a solution. Bugger.Oh Lazyweb I beseech thee, come to my rescue! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Web

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Problems with OS X Leopard, Apache and symbolic links”

  1. tlrobinson Says:

    Did you ever find a solution? I’m having this problem as well… it’s really annoying.

  2. what? Says:

    edit the /etc/apache2/users/username.conf.

    Add FollowSymLinks to the Options.

    • nhm91 Says:

      Thank you oh lord and master.

      /etc/apache2/users/username.conf, Add FollowSymLinks to the Options.

      Mac OSX Leopard

      I guess I’ll never get used to apache. There’s always one more file somewhere.

  3. Jamshid Says:

    My problem is that I was making a symlink to my ~/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music/Podcasts, but my ~/Music directory was not readable by all the way my Sites directory is:

    drwx—— 7 jamshid jamshid 238 Oct 26 18:02 Music
    drwxr-xr-x 5 jamshid jamshid 170 Oct 25 2005 Sites

    Doing a “chmod a+wx ~/Music” allowed my symlink to work. Don’t know if there is a better, more secure way to do this.


Leave a comment